#### SOUTH YORKSHIRE LOCAL PENSION BOARD

#### 23 July 2015

### Report of the Deputy Clerk

### MEMBERSHIP OF THE LOCAL PENSION BOARD

# 1. Purpose of the Report

To report on membership of the Local Pension Board.

# 2. Recommendations

Members are recommended to note the report.

### 3. Information

The Constitution of the South Yorkshire Local Pension Board states: "In accordance with Regulation 107 of the LGPS (Governance Regulations) 2014 the South Yorkshire Local Pension Board will be made up of an equal number of employer and member representatives which is no less than four in total. The South Yorkshire LPB will comprise 12 members in total:

Employer representatives will consist of:

- 2 Local Authority members
- 1 'Other Large Employer'
- 1 Academy
- 1 Admitted Body
- 1 South Yorkshire Passenger Transport Pension Fund (SYPTPF) Employer

Employee representatives will consist of:

- 3 Trades Unions
- 2 members selected from active, pensioner and deferred members
- 1 member selected from active, pensioner and deferred members of SYPTPF

The current membership of the Local Pension Board is set out below.

Member	Name	Representing
Employer	Vacancy	Local Authority Member (Doncaster)
Employer	Councillor Ben Curran	Local Authority Member (Sheffield)
Employer	Geoff Berrett (South Yorkshire Police)	'Other Large Employer'

Member	Name	Representing
Employer	Melanie Priestley (St Mary's Academy Trust)	Academy
Employer	Jill Thompson (Action Housing)	Admitted Body
Scheme member	Garry Warwick (GMB)	Trades Union
Scheme member	Kevin Morgan (UCATT)	Trades Union
Scheme member	Nicola Doolan (Unison)	Trades Union
Scheme member	Glyn Boyington	LGPS Member
Scheme member	Susan Ross	LGPS Member
Scheme member	Steve Carnell	SYPTPF Member
Employer	Vacancy	SYPTPF Employer

# 4. <u>Implications</u>

<u>Legal</u> The Local Pension Board has been established in accordance with the Public

Service Pensions Act 2013, acknowledging the compliance and enforcement policy for public service pension schemes issued by the Pensions Regulator.

Financial None.

**Diversity** None.

M McCarthy Deputy Clerk

Officer Responsible: Gill Garrety, Democratic Services Officer

South Yorkshire Joint Authorities Governance Unit

01226 772806; ggarrety@syjs.gov.uk

Background papers: None.